Who takes product images for AI, and on what terms
4 of 11 image buyer pages whose own text we read run a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join, each answer quoted, read 28 October 2026.
How it takes images
Names product or e-commerce imagery
What it says about the owner's rights
What its page says
Every answer from every buyer page
Every row is a single buyer page, and every answer expands to the wording it was taken from, the page it came from and when it was read. "Not stated" is used when the page says nothing on the point.
| Buyer page | How it takes images | Names product or e-commerce imagery | What it says about the owner's rights | What its page says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe | licenses its own contributors' library for AI | not statedNot addressed in Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | Bonus amounts will vary for each eligible Contributor and is paid at Adobe’s discretion. |
| Alamy | licenses its own contributors' library for AI | not statedNot addressed in AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | We know that Alamy images have been scraped to train headline-grabbing and increasingly… |
| Bria | varies by document | |||
| Defined.ai | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee Not addressed in What are data marketplaces | Audio, video, image, text or multimodal data | |
| Getty Images | trains its own models on licensed images | not statedNot addressed in Summary of training content (EU AI Act) | says the images it uses are rights-cleared or licensed | subjects data partners to periodic compliance audits and remediation procedures |
| IMAGO | licenses its own contributors' library for AI | not statedNot addressed in Train AI models with licensed multimodal content | not statedNot addressed in Train AI models with licensed multimodal content | IMAGO offers metadata-rich datasets with flexible licensing and custom pricing. |
| Photoroom | trains its own models on licensed images | not statedNot addressed in Photoroom's approach to responsible AI | says the images it uses are rights-cleared or licensed | App users, including free users, can opt out at any time by adjusting their settings. |
| Protege | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | not statedNot addressed in home | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | while maintaining clear rights protections and provenance |
| Shutterstock | varies by document | names product, e-commerce or retail imagery Not addressed in Data Partner Network Not addressed in AI data licensing | varies by document | Shutterstock’s AI Data Licensing gives you the multimodal fuel to power product imagery… |
| Troveo | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | not statedNot addressed in home | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | Share a brief and we source data to your exact spec from our licensor network. |
| Wirestock | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | names product, e-commerce or retail imagery | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | Clear, well-lit shots of various products from different angles are essential for… |
Each answer in its source's own words (64 quotes)
- Adobe, Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors, read 2026-10-08, How it takes images:
The first commercially released Firefly model was trained on Adobe Stock images, openly licensed content, and public-domain content whose copyright has expired.
- Adobe, Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors, read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-08, 117,108 characters long.
- Adobe, Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors, read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights:
whose content was considered for training Adobe Firefly generative AI models are receiving a Firefly Contributor bonus payment on September 17, 2026
- Adobe, Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors, read 2026-10-08, What its page says:
Bonus amounts will vary for each eligible Contributor and is paid at Adobe’s discretion.
- Alamy, AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities, read 2026-10-28, How it takes images:
We’re happy to licence images for a fee to developers who want to train AI models ethically and democratically for purposes other than image generation
- Alamy, AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities, read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 4,784 characters long.
- Alamy, AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities, read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights:
We will be splitting this revenue with contributors whose images are included.
- Alamy, AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities, read 2026-10-28, What its page says:
We know that Alamy images have been scraped to train headline-grabbing and increasingly popular image generation tools, without our permission and without licence.
- Bria, home, read 2026-10-28, How it takes images:
All Bria models are trained exclusively on licensed data from Getty Images, Alamy, and Envato.
- Bria, home, read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 7,507 characters long.
- Bria, home, read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights:
Every output is covered by full IP indemnification, meaning Bria contractually protects you against copyright claims from generated content.
- Bria, home, read 2026-10-28, What its page says:
Train custom models on your brand assets and visual IP
- Bria, llms-full, read 2026-10-28, How it takes images:
Enterprise visual AI platform built on 100% licensed training data.
- Bria, llms-full, read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery:
Bria's Product Shots suite automates the full lifecycle of e-commerce product imagery
- Bria, llms-full, read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights:
a patented attribution engine that traces training data influence back to individual creators and compensates them based on revenue generated from their contribution
- Bria, llms-full, read 2026-10-28, What its page says:
a patented attribution engine that traces training data influence back to individual creators and compensates them based on revenue generated from their contribution
- Defined.ai, What are data marketplaces, read 2026-10-28, How it takes images:
Many organizations now sell datasets or packages and buy data products through trusted platforms, transforming unused assets into revenue streams.
- Defined.ai, What are data marketplaces, read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 12,440 characters long.
- Defined.ai, What are data marketplaces, read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 12,440 characters long.
- Defined.ai, What are data marketplaces, read 2026-10-28, What its page says:
enterprise AI data marketplaces prioritize structured, ethically sourced datasets specifically designed for training and evaluating AI systems at scale
- Defined.ai, Partnership programs, read 2026-10-27, How it takes images:
Monetize your data ethically and easily with Defined.ai’s Partnership Programs.
- Defined.ai, Partnership programs, read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-27, 5,738 characters long.
- Defined.ai, Partnership programs, read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights:
Whether you own or process data, create new revenue streams for your business.
- Defined.ai, Partnership programs, read 2026-10-27, What its page says:
Audio, video, image, text or multimodal data
- Getty Images, Summary of training content (EU AI Act), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images:
Images training data is sourced by Bria entirely through commercial licensing agreements with Getty Images and other data partners globally
- Getty Images, Summary of training content (EU AI Act), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 6,644 characters long.
- Getty Images, Summary of training content (EU AI Act), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights:
Image, 479 million images, fully licensed images provided by Getty Images and Bria data partners
- Getty Images, Summary of training content (EU AI Act), read 2026-10-28, What its page says:
subjects data partners to periodic compliance audits and remediation procedures
- IMAGO, Train AI models with licensed multimodal content, read 2026-10-28, How it takes images:
IMAGO delivers custom-curated datasets tailored to your use case, format, or geographic focus.
- IMAGO, Train AI models with licensed multimodal content, read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 2,976 characters long.
- IMAGO, Train AI models with licensed multimodal content, read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 2,976 characters long.
- IMAGO, Train AI models with licensed multimodal content, read 2026-10-28, What its page says:
IMAGO offers metadata-rich datasets with flexible licensing and custom pricing.
- Photoroom, Photoroom's approach to responsible AI, read 2026-10-28, How it takes images:
Proprietary data from partners, including industry-leading image providers and professional photographers, giving us access to non-public datasets under agreed terms.
- Photoroom, Photoroom's approach to responsible AI, read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 11,553 characters long.
- Photoroom, Photoroom's approach to responsible AI, read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights:
User-generated content, only when users have provided their consent.
- Photoroom, Photoroom's approach to responsible AI, read 2026-10-28, What its page says:
App users, including free users, can opt out at any time by adjusting their settings.
- Protege, home, read 2026-10-08, How it takes images:
Monetize your existing data assets or content with Protege
- Protege, home, read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-08, 35,339 characters long.
- Protege, home, read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights:
Monetize your existing data assets or content with Protege
- Protege, home, read 2026-10-08, What its page says:
while maintaining clear rights protections and provenance
- Shutterstock, Data licensing and the Contributor Fund, read 2026-10-08, How it takes images:
ensuring they receive a share of the proceeds from computer vision datasets and generative AI models when their content is used in the creation of these technologies
- Shutterstock, Data licensing and the Contributor Fund, read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery:
Product categorization: eCommerce and retail companies can recommend relevant products to their customers.
- Shutterstock, Data licensing and the Contributor Fund, read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights:
Contributors will earn a 20% average corporate royalty rate of revenue received by Shutterstock for data licenses.
- Shutterstock, Data licensing and the Contributor Fund, read 2026-10-08, What its page says:
Contributors will receive a share of the entire contract value paid by customers licensing datasets.
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing, read 2026-10-27, How it takes images:
Shutterstock helps teams source, license, curate, and prepare everything from our extensive content library to custom and hard-to-source datasets.
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing, read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-27, 8,297 characters long.
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing, read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights:
Power AI applications with licensed content at inference
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing, read 2026-10-27, What its page says:
Some of the most valuable AI datasets aren’t sitting in an existing catalog.
- Shutterstock, Data Partner Network, read 2026-10-27, How it takes images:
Explore Shutterstock’s Data Partner Network to license your content for AI training
- Shutterstock, Data Partner Network, read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-27, 1,959 characters long.
- Shutterstock, Data Partner Network, read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights:
Generate new revenue from your content
- Shutterstock, Data Partner Network, read 2026-10-27, What its page says:
Tell us about your content library. We’ll follow up to discuss next steps.
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing for image generation, read 2026-10-27, How it takes images:
Model-training rights and contributor permissions included
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing for image generation, read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery:
Shutterstock’s AI Data Licensing gives you the multimodal fuel to power product imagery, personalization, and generative experiences across e-commerce, retail, and design applications.
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing for image generation, read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights:
Accelerate your visual AI with premium rights-cleared metadata
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing for image generation, read 2026-10-27, What its page says:
Shutterstock’s AI Data Licensing gives you the multimodal fuel to power product imagery, personalization, and generative experiences across e-commerce, retail, and design applications.
- Troveo, home, read 2026-10-08, How it takes images:
Turn your company's data into recurring revenue
- Troveo, home, read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-08, 33,910 characters long.
- Troveo, home, read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights:
Turn your company's data into recurring revenue
- Troveo, home, read 2026-10-08, What its page says:
Share a brief and we source data to your exact spec from our licensor network.
- Wirestock, How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator, read 2026-10-08, How it takes images:
Platforms like Wirestock streamline this process by handling the complexities of licensing and distribution.
- Wirestock, How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator, read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery:
Clear, well-lit shots of various products from different angles are essential for e-commerce and product design AI.
- Wirestock, How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator, read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights:
Once your data is selected and used by AI companies, you earn royalties or lump-sum payments.
- Wirestock, How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator, read 2026-10-08, What its page says:
Clear, well-lit shots of various products from different angles are essential for e-commerce and product design AI.
Read and excluded
After reading, 1 named document was excluded as off the board's subject; the reason sits below. It counts as read but gives no answer.
- Wirestock, Sell data: the address now opens Wirestock's blog index of photo-selling articles, not a page about selling data
How the figures are worked out
Each buyer page's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row).
For every page, four questions were answered from its own words: how it takes images, names product or e-commerce imagery, what it says about the owner's rights, what its page says.
Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the page read does not address the question.
A buyer page with several pages reads 'varies' where they disagree.
11 buyer pages, 16 pages.
1 more named document is listed but unread, and not counted.
All 18 sources
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing for image generation (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Shutterstock, Data Partner Network (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Shutterstock, AI data licensing (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Shutterstock, data licensing and the contributor fund (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Getty Images, Summary of training content (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Alamy, AI and your images (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Depositphotos, AI training data (not yet read)
- Adobe, Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- IMAGO, Train AI models with licensed multimodal content (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Bria, home (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Bria, llms-full (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Photoroom, Photoroom's approach to responsible AI (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Defined.ai, Partnership programs (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Defined.ai, What are data marketplaces (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Wirestock, Sell data (read, set aside)
- Wirestock, Earn money from AI training datasets (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Protege, home (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
- Troveo, home (cited for reporting; the publisher's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI)
Cite it or embed it
4 of 11 image buyer pages whose own text we read run a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join, each answer quoted, read 28 October 2026.
How it takes images, by buyer page: runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join 4 of 11, licenses its own contributors' library for AI 3 of 11, trains its own models on licensed images 3 of 11, varies 1 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).
Names product or e-commerce imagery, by buyer page: not stated 8 of 11, names product, e-commerce or retail imagery 3 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).
What it says about the owner's rights, by buyer page: says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee 6 of 11, says the images it uses are rights-cleared or licensed 2 of 11, varies 2 of 11, not stated 1 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).
What its page says, by buyer page: stated 11 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).
Reference: "Who takes product images for AI, and on what terms", updated 2026-10-28, https://sellproductimagestoai.com/datasets/product-image-data-buyers/.
Save the CSV (64 answers; derived 2026-10-28)