Packshots, lifestyle shots and the catalogues behind them
Sell product images to AI? First see what your platforms already hold
A product catalogue can live in a DAM, a PIM, a store builder and several marketplaces at once, each under its own terms. We read 26 documents from 20 of them, the newest on 2026-10-28: 13 leave the images with the business, 8 keep a right to aggregated or anonymised use, and 4 promise not to train AI on uploads.
Source: Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source
- 13 of 20
- platforms whose terms say the business keeps what it uploads (Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
- 8 of 20
- platforms that reserve aggregated or anonymised use of customer data (Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
- 4 of 20
- platforms that say in writing they will not train AI on your uploads (Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
- 2026-10-28
- newest read among the platform documents on the board (Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
Catalogue platform terms, one platform per row
- 8 of 20 catalogue platforms read up to 2026-10-28 reserve aggregated or anonymised use; 4 say they will not train AI on uploads.(Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
| Catalogue platform | Who owns the uploaded images | Training AI on uploads | Keeps aggregated or anonymised use of uploads | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe | the business | will not train | not stated | General Terms of Use |
| Air | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms of Service |
| Amazon | not stated | not stated | not stated | Amazon Services Business Solutions Agreement |
| Aprimo | the business | not stated | reserved | Terms and Conditions (Master Subscription Agreement) |
| BigCommerce (Commerce) | the business | not stated | reserved | Master Services Agreement |
| Cloudinary | the business | varies by document | reserved | Main Subscription Agreement |
| eBay | not stated | not stated | not stated | User Agreement |
| Etsy | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms of Use |
| Frontify | the business | will not train | reserved | Addendum for the use of AI |
| the business | not stated | not stated | Buy on Google Merchant Terms | |
| inriver | the business | not stated | reserved | Master Subscription Agreement (July 2023) |
| Photoroom | not stated | opt-out offered | not stated | Does the AI learn from your images (help article) |
| Pics.io | not stated | not stated | not stated | Terms of Service and Sale (2018) |
| Pixelcut | not stated | not stated | not stated | Terms and Conditions |
| Plytix | the business | will not train | reserved | Terms of Service |
| remove.bg | not stated | may train | not stated | Improvement Program Conditions |
| Salsify | not stated | will not train | reserved | Terms of Service |
| Shopify | the business | not stated | not stated | Terms of Service |
| Squarespace | the business | not stated | reserved | Terms of Service |
| YouTube | the business | not stated | not stated | YouTube Merchant Terms |
Each vendor's own published terms were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row). For every document, four questions were answered from the vendor's own words: who owns the business's data, vendor keeps aggregated or anonymised use, training AI on the business's data, export at exit. Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the document read does not address the question. A vendor with several documents reads 'varies' where they disagree. 20 vendors, 26 documents.
Cite: “Catalogue platform terms, one platform per row”, Sell Product Images to AI, https://sellproductimagestoai.com/ (updated 2026-10-28).
Tell us about your product image library
The detail
Each one cites where its numbers come from.
Who owns product photos on Amazon? What sellers grant
Who owns product photos on Amazon, eBay and Etsy? The seller keeps them, but each marketplace's own agreement takes a licence, quoted here from the documents.
Who owns commissioned product photos, US and UK
Who owns commissioned product photos: the brand that paid or the photographer? US Title 17 and the UK Copyright, Designs and Patents Act, quoted rule by rule.
Who buys product images for AI, from their own pages
Who buys product images for AI: stock libraries licensing contributors' work, AI image firms trained on licensed data, and partner doors open to outside owners.
Selling my ecommerce business: the product images inside it
Selling my ecommerce business? The catalogue's product images may be worth licensing separately. What the store and marketplace terms and the photo law say first.
The process
Say what the library holds and which systems and marketplaces carry it.
We check those platforms against the clauses on the board and against who shot the images.
You receive a written note on your own catalogue and choose the next step yourself.
No DAM, PIM, store platform or marketplace paid to appear on this board, and no link here pays us a commission. Every answer is our reading of a published document, not legal advice on your own contracts. How this site earns: if a business licenses its catalogue images to a buyer we introduced, our fee is 12.5% of the deal, with a minimum, when we act as its exclusive agent, or 10% with a minimum when the images join a bundle or the pool, agreed with the business in writing beforehand; any fee a buyer pays us is credited back to the business.
Straight answers
Can I sell our product images to AI if they sit in a DAM or PIM?
Usually the images remain the business's: 13 of the 20 platforms on our board say so in their own terms. The catch is what else the platform keeps. Aprimo's agreement, for instance, lets it "aggregate, anonymize and otherwise use" customer data as needed to run its service, and 8 of the 20 platforms reserve some aggregated or anonymised use.(Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
Which platforms say they will not train AI on our product images?
4 of the 20 put it in writing: Adobe, Frontify, Salsify and Plytix. Salsify's terms say it "will not use Customer Content to train any artificial intelligence model supporting Salsify AI-Powered Capabilities without Customer's prior permission". Most of the rest, 13 of them, say nothing either way.(Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
Does Photoroom use the images we edit to train its AI?
By default, yes, for app users. Photoroom's help centre says it uses uploaded images to improve its services, including training the AI, and that each user account can opt out. It adds that images sent through its API are neither stored nor used for training unless explicitly requested.(Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
Do we own product photos a photographer shot for us?
Not automatically. In the US the Copyright Office says the person who takes a photograph is generally its author and first owner, and a commissioned photo is a work made for hire only in narrow categories under a written agreement. In the UK the Act makes the creator the author and the employer the first owner only of an employee's work. Our law register sets out each rule.(Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
Can we get the images back out when we leave a platform?
Only a few platforms promise it. Salsify and Plytix each give a window of thirty days to export, inriver needs a written request before the term ends, and Frontify, Adobe and BigCommerce speak of deleting content rather than returning it. 14 of the 20 say nothing on export at all.(Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
Who takes product images for AI training?
Stock libraries license their contributors' images to AI developers, and a few run a door for outside owners: Shutterstock's Data Partner Network, Defined.ai's partner programmes, Protege and Troveo among them. Our buyer board quotes each one's own page.(Digital asset software data terms: every row, with its source)
Sources
This site's own datasets, every figure quoted from its source and dated:
- Who owns a commissioned product photograph: 13 provisions of US and UK copyright law and guidance on who owns a photograph, each quoted from the statute or the authority's own page, read 28 October 2026.
- Digital asset software data terms: 8 of 20 digital asset software vendors whose terms we read reserve the right to use their customers' data in aggregated or anonymised form, read 28 October 2026.
- Who takes product images for AI, and on what terms: 4 of 11 image buyer pages whose own text we read run a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join, each answer quoted, read 28 October 2026.