# Who takes product images for AI, and on what terms

> 4 of 11 image buyer pages whose own text we read run a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join, each answer quoted, read 28 October 2026.

Sell Product Images to AI · https://sellproductimagestoai.com/datasets/product-image-data-buyers/ · computed 2026-10-28

**Buyer pages that take images from outside owners:** 4 of 11 buyer pages (16 pages read; 18 named).

## The answers, question by question

- **How it takes images:** runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join 4, licenses its own contributors' library for AI 3, trains its own models on licensed images 3, varies 1
- **Names product or e-commerce imagery:** not stated 8, names product, e-commerce or retail imagery 3
- **What it says about the owner's rights:** says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee 6, varies 2, says the images it uses are rights-cleared or licensed 2, not stated 1
- **What its page says:** stated 11

## Every buyer page

| Buyer page | How it takes images | Names product or e-commerce imagery | What it says about the owner's rights | What its page says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe | licenses its own contributors' library for AI | not stated | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | Bonus amounts will vary for each eligible Contributor and is paid at Adobe’s discretion. |
| Alamy | licenses its own contributors' library for AI | not stated | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | We know that Alamy images have been scraped to train headline-grabbing and increasingly… |
| Bria | trains its own models on licensed images | names product, e-commerce or retail imagery | varies by document | Train custom models on your brand assets and visual IP |
| Defined.ai | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | not stated | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | Audio, video, image, text or multimodal data |
| Getty Images | trains its own models on licensed images | not stated | says the images it uses are rights-cleared or licensed | subjects data partners to periodic compliance audits and remediation procedures |
| IMAGO | licenses its own contributors' library for AI | not stated | not stated | IMAGO offers metadata-rich datasets with flexible licensing and custom pricing. |
| Photoroom | trains its own models on licensed images | not stated | says the images it uses are rights-cleared or licensed | App users, including free users, can opt out at any time by adjusting their settings. |
| Protege | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | not stated | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | while maintaining clear rights protections and provenance |
| Shutterstock | varies by document | names product, e-commerce or retail imagery | varies by document | Shutterstock’s AI Data Licensing gives you the multimodal fuel to power product imagery… |
| Troveo | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | not stated | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | Share a brief and we source data to your exact spec from our licensor network. |
| Wirestock | runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join | names product, e-commerce or retail imagery | says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee | Clear, well-lit shots of various products from different angles are essential for… |

## The sentence each answer rests on (64)

- Adobe, [Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors](https://helpx.adobe.com/stock/contributor/help/firefly-faq-for-adobe-stock-contributors.html), read 2026-10-08, How it takes images: "The first commercially released Firefly model was trained on Adobe Stock images, openly licensed content, and public-domain content whose copyright has expired."
- Adobe, [Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors](https://helpx.adobe.com/stock/contributor/help/firefly-faq-for-adobe-stock-contributors.html), read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-08, 117,108 characters long.
- Adobe, [Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors](https://helpx.adobe.com/stock/contributor/help/firefly-faq-for-adobe-stock-contributors.html), read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights: "whose content was considered for training Adobe Firefly generative AI models are receiving a Firefly Contributor bonus payment on September 17, 2026"
- Adobe, [Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors](https://helpx.adobe.com/stock/contributor/help/firefly-faq-for-adobe-stock-contributors.html), read 2026-10-08, What its page says: "Bonus amounts will vary for each eligible Contributor and is paid at Adobe’s discretion."
- Alamy, [AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities](https://www.alamy.com/blog/ai-and-your-images-protecting-rights-and-creating-opportunities), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images: "We’re happy to licence images for a fee to developers who want to train AI models ethically and democratically for purposes other than image generation"
- Alamy, [AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities](https://www.alamy.com/blog/ai-and-your-images-protecting-rights-and-creating-opportunities), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 4,784 characters long.
- Alamy, [AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities](https://www.alamy.com/blog/ai-and-your-images-protecting-rights-and-creating-opportunities), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: "We will be splitting this revenue with contributors whose images are included."
- Alamy, [AI and your images: protecting rights and creating opportunities](https://www.alamy.com/blog/ai-and-your-images-protecting-rights-and-creating-opportunities), read 2026-10-28, What its page says: "We know that Alamy images have been scraped to train headline-grabbing and increasingly popular image generation tools, without our permission and without licence."
- Bria, [home](https://bria.ai/), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images: "All Bria models are trained exclusively on licensed data from Getty Images, Alamy, and Envato."
- Bria, [home](https://bria.ai/), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 7,507 characters long.
- Bria, [home](https://bria.ai/), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: "Every output is covered by full IP indemnification, meaning Bria contractually protects you against copyright claims from generated content."
- Bria, [home](https://bria.ai/), read 2026-10-28, What its page says: "Train custom models on your brand assets and visual IP"
- Bria, [llms-full](https://bria.ai/llms-full.txt), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images: "Enterprise visual AI platform built on 100% licensed training data."
- Bria, [llms-full](https://bria.ai/llms-full.txt), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: "Bria's Product Shots suite automates the full lifecycle of e-commerce product imagery"
- Bria, [llms-full](https://bria.ai/llms-full.txt), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: "a patented attribution engine that traces training data influence back to individual creators and compensates them based on revenue generated from their contribution"
- Bria, [llms-full](https://bria.ai/llms-full.txt), read 2026-10-28, What its page says: "a patented attribution engine that traces training data influence back to individual creators and compensates them based on revenue generated from their contribution"
- Defined.ai, [What are data marketplaces](https://defined.ai/blog/data-marketplace-explainer), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images: "Many organizations now sell datasets or packages and buy data products through trusted platforms, transforming unused assets into revenue streams."
- Defined.ai, [What are data marketplaces](https://defined.ai/blog/data-marketplace-explainer), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 12,440 characters long.
- Defined.ai, [What are data marketplaces](https://defined.ai/blog/data-marketplace-explainer), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 12,440 characters long.
- Defined.ai, [What are data marketplaces](https://defined.ai/blog/data-marketplace-explainer), read 2026-10-28, What its page says: "enterprise AI data marketplaces prioritize structured, ethically sourced datasets specifically designed for training and evaluating AI systems at scale"
- Defined.ai, [Partnership programs](https://defined.ai/partnerships), read 2026-10-27, How it takes images: "Monetize your data ethically and easily with Defined.ai’s Partnership Programs."
- Defined.ai, [Partnership programs](https://defined.ai/partnerships), read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-27, 5,738 characters long.
- Defined.ai, [Partnership programs](https://defined.ai/partnerships), read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights: "Whether you own or process data, create new revenue streams for your business."
- Defined.ai, [Partnership programs](https://defined.ai/partnerships), read 2026-10-27, What its page says: "Audio, video, image, text or multimodal data"
- Getty Images, [Summary of training content (EU AI Act)](https://developer.gettyimages.com/ai-generation/summary-of-training-content), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images: "Images training data is sourced by Bria entirely through commercial licensing agreements with Getty Images and other data partners globally"
- Getty Images, [Summary of training content (EU AI Act)](https://developer.gettyimages.com/ai-generation/summary-of-training-content), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 6,644 characters long.
- Getty Images, [Summary of training content (EU AI Act)](https://developer.gettyimages.com/ai-generation/summary-of-training-content), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: "Image, 479 million images, fully licensed images provided by Getty Images and Bria data partners"
- Getty Images, [Summary of training content (EU AI Act)](https://developer.gettyimages.com/ai-generation/summary-of-training-content), read 2026-10-28, What its page says: "subjects data partners to periodic compliance audits and remediation procedures"
- IMAGO, [Train AI models with licensed multimodal content](https://connect.imago-images.com/en/train-ai-models-with-licensed-multimodal-content-from-imago), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images: "IMAGO delivers custom-curated datasets tailored to your use case, format, or geographic focus."
- IMAGO, [Train AI models with licensed multimodal content](https://connect.imago-images.com/en/train-ai-models-with-licensed-multimodal-content-from-imago), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 2,976 characters long.
- IMAGO, [Train AI models with licensed multimodal content](https://connect.imago-images.com/en/train-ai-models-with-licensed-multimodal-content-from-imago), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 2,976 characters long.
- IMAGO, [Train AI models with licensed multimodal content](https://connect.imago-images.com/en/train-ai-models-with-licensed-multimodal-content-from-imago), read 2026-10-28, What its page says: "IMAGO offers metadata-rich datasets with flexible licensing and custom pricing."
- Photoroom, [Photoroom's approach to responsible AI](https://www.photoroom.com/inside-photoroom/photoroom-approach-to-responsible-ai), read 2026-10-28, How it takes images: "Proprietary data from partners, including industry-leading image providers and professional photographers, giving us access to non-public datasets under agreed terms."
- Photoroom, [Photoroom's approach to responsible AI](https://www.photoroom.com/inside-photoroom/photoroom-approach-to-responsible-ai), read 2026-10-28, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-28, 11,553 characters long.
- Photoroom, [Photoroom's approach to responsible AI](https://www.photoroom.com/inside-photoroom/photoroom-approach-to-responsible-ai), read 2026-10-28, What it says about the owner's rights: "User-generated content, only when users have provided their consent."
- Photoroom, [Photoroom's approach to responsible AI](https://www.photoroom.com/inside-photoroom/photoroom-approach-to-responsible-ai), read 2026-10-28, What its page says: "App users, including free users, can opt out at any time by adjusting their settings."
- Protege, [home](https://www.withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, How it takes images: "Monetize your existing data assets or content with Protege"
- Protege, [home](https://www.withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-08, 35,339 characters long.
- Protege, [home](https://www.withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights: "Monetize your existing data assets or content with Protege"
- Protege, [home](https://www.withprotege.ai/), read 2026-10-08, What its page says: "while maintaining clear rights protections and provenance"
- Shutterstock, [Data licensing and the Contributor Fund](https://intercom.help/shutterstock-contributor/en/articles/10594694-shutterstock-data-licensing-and-the-contributor-fund), read 2026-10-08, How it takes images: "ensuring they receive a share of the proceeds from computer vision datasets and generative AI models when their content is used in the creation of these technologies"
- Shutterstock, [Data licensing and the Contributor Fund](https://intercom.help/shutterstock-contributor/en/articles/10594694-shutterstock-data-licensing-and-the-contributor-fund), read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: "Product categorization: eCommerce and retail companies can recommend relevant products to their customers."
- Shutterstock, [Data licensing and the Contributor Fund](https://intercom.help/shutterstock-contributor/en/articles/10594694-shutterstock-data-licensing-and-the-contributor-fund), read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights: "Contributors will earn a 20% average corporate royalty rate of revenue received by Shutterstock for data licenses."
- Shutterstock, [Data licensing and the Contributor Fund](https://intercom.help/shutterstock-contributor/en/articles/10594694-shutterstock-data-licensing-and-the-contributor-fund), read 2026-10-08, What its page says: "Contributors will receive a share of the entire contract value paid by customers licensing datasets."
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing), read 2026-10-27, How it takes images: "Shutterstock helps teams source, license, curate, and prepare everything from our extensive content library to custom and hard-to-source datasets."
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing), read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-27, 8,297 characters long.
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing), read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights: "Power AI applications with licensed content at inference"
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing), read 2026-10-27, What its page says: "Some of the most valuable AI datasets aren’t sitting in an existing catalog."
- Shutterstock, [Data Partner Network](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/data-partner-network), read 2026-10-27, How it takes images: "Explore Shutterstock’s Data Partner Network to license your content for AI training"
- Shutterstock, [Data Partner Network](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/data-partner-network), read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-27, 1,959 characters long.
- Shutterstock, [Data Partner Network](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/data-partner-network), read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights: "Generate new revenue from your content"
- Shutterstock, [Data Partner Network](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/data-partner-network), read 2026-10-27, What its page says: "Tell us about your content library. We’ll follow up to discuss next steps."
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing for image generation](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/image-generation), read 2026-10-27, How it takes images: "Model-training rights and contributor permissions included"
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing for image generation](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/image-generation), read 2026-10-27, Names product or e-commerce imagery: "Shutterstock’s AI Data Licensing gives you the multimodal fuel to power product imagery, personalization, and generative experiences across e-commerce, retail, and design applications."
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing for image generation](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/image-generation), read 2026-10-27, What it says about the owner's rights: "Accelerate your visual AI with premium rights-cleared metadata"
- Shutterstock, [AI data licensing for image generation](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/image-generation), read 2026-10-27, What its page says: "Shutterstock’s AI Data Licensing gives you the multimodal fuel to power product imagery, personalization, and generative experiences across e-commerce, retail, and design applications."
- Troveo, [home](https://www.troveo.ai/), read 2026-10-08, How it takes images: "Turn your company's data into recurring revenue"
- Troveo, [home](https://www.troveo.ai/), read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: The page is silent here; it was read in full on 2026-10-08, 33,910 characters long.
- Troveo, [home](https://www.troveo.ai/), read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights: "Turn your company's data into recurring revenue"
- Troveo, [home](https://www.troveo.ai/), read 2026-10-08, What its page says: "Share a brief and we source data to your exact spec from our licensor network."
- Wirestock, [How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator](https://wirestock.io/gen-ai-resources/earn-money-ai-training-datasets-creators), read 2026-10-08, How it takes images: "Platforms like Wirestock streamline this process by handling the complexities of licensing and distribution."
- Wirestock, [How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator](https://wirestock.io/gen-ai-resources/earn-money-ai-training-datasets-creators), read 2026-10-08, Names product or e-commerce imagery: "Clear, well-lit shots of various products from different angles are essential for e-commerce and product design AI."
- Wirestock, [How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator](https://wirestock.io/gen-ai-resources/earn-money-ai-training-datasets-creators), read 2026-10-08, What it says about the owner's rights: "Once your data is selected and used by AI companies, you earn royalties or lump-sum payments."
- Wirestock, [How to earn money from AI training datasets as a creator](https://wirestock.io/gen-ai-resources/earn-money-ai-training-datasets-creators), read 2026-10-08, What its page says: "Clear, well-lit shots of various products from different angles are essential for e-commerce and product design AI."

## Read and set aside

- [Wirestock, Sell data](https://www.wirestock.io/sell-data): the address now opens Wirestock's blog index of photo-selling articles, not a page about selling data

## Methodology

Each buyer page's own image buyers', stock libraries' and data marketplaces' own pages on licensing images for AI were read through estate-fetch and stored whole (sha256 on every row). For every page, four questions were answered from its own words: how it takes images, names product or e-commerce imagery, what it says about the owner's rights, what its page says. Every stated answer carries the sentence it rests on, checked against the stored text; 'not stated' means the page read does not address the question. A buyer page with several pages reads 'varies' where they disagree. 11 buyer pages, 16 pages.

## Sources

- [Shutterstock, AI data licensing for image generation](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/image-generation) (read)
- [Shutterstock, Data Partner Network](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing/data-partner-network) (read)
- [Shutterstock, AI data licensing](https://www.shutterstock.com/data-licensing) (read)
- [Shutterstock, data licensing and the contributor fund](https://intercom.help/shutterstock-contributor/en/articles/10594694-shutterstock-data-licensing-and-the-contributor-fund) (read)
- [Getty Images, Summary of training content](https://developer.gettyimages.com/ai-generation/summary-of-training-content) (read)
- [Alamy, AI and your images](https://www.alamy.com/blog/ai-and-your-images-protecting-rights-and-creating-opportunities) (read)
- [Depositphotos, AI training data](https://depositphotos.com/ai-training-data.html) (unread)
- [Adobe, Firefly FAQ for Adobe Stock contributors](https://helpx.adobe.com/stock/contributor/help/firefly-faq-for-adobe-stock-contributors.html) (read)
- [IMAGO, Train AI models with licensed multimodal content](https://connect.imago-images.com/en/train-ai-models-with-licensed-multimodal-content-from-imago) (read)
- [Bria, home](https://bria.ai/) (read)
- [Bria, llms-full](https://bria.ai/llms-full.txt) (read)
- [Photoroom, Photoroom's approach to responsible AI](https://www.photoroom.com/inside-photoroom/photoroom-approach-to-responsible-ai) (read)
- [Defined.ai, Partnership programs](https://defined.ai/partnerships) (read)
- [Defined.ai, What are data marketplaces](https://defined.ai/blog/data-marketplace-explainer) (read)
- [Wirestock, Sell data](https://www.wirestock.io/sell-data) (not-terms)
- [Wirestock, Earn money from AI training datasets](https://wirestock.io/gen-ai-resources/earn-money-ai-training-datasets-creators) (read)
- [Protege, home](https://www.withprotege.ai/) (read)
- [Troveo, home](https://www.troveo.ai/) (read)

## Cite or embed

- 4 of 11 image buyer pages whose own text we read run a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join, each answer quoted, read 28 October 2026.
- How it takes images, by buyer page: runs a partner programme or marketplace an outside owner can join 4 of 11, licenses its own contributors' library for AI 3 of 11, trains its own models on licensed images 3 of 11, varies 1 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).
- Names product or e-commerce imagery, by buyer page: not stated 8 of 11, names product, e-commerce or retail imagery 3 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).
- What it says about the owner's rights, by buyer page: says it pays the owner or contributor a share or fee 6 of 11, says the images it uses are rights-cleared or licensed 2 of 11, varies 2 of 11, not stated 1 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).
- What its page says, by buyer page: stated 11 of 11 (11 buyer pages, read 28 October 2026).

Cite as: "Who takes product images for AI, and on what terms", updated 2026-10-28, https://sellproductimagestoai.com/datasets/product-image-data-buyers/.

CSV: https://sellproductimagestoai.com/datasets/product-image-data-buyers.csv
JSON: https://sellproductimagestoai.com/datasets/product-image-data-buyers.json
Embed (plain HTML, static link back): see https://sellproductimagestoai.com/datasets/product-image-data-buyers/#lead
